Cannes in black and white

October 18, 2012

By Matt Palmer

As I mentioned in an earlier post the last two months have been very busy, and that has kept me from writing here on a regular basis. But, it is all for good reasons, as I continue to work to finance this important documentary project.

There is lots of good news though. I have connected with some influential people both on the energy side, environmental side, and film and television distribution side. Everyone I speak with gets very engaged with the story I am telling, and appreciative of the story angle. The story of the future of energy is the most important story of our time. It is a story of hope, but it may require people to shift what they currently believe.

My last post was from my recent trip to New York City. Last week I was in Cannes, France for a big film and television market called MIPCOM. 13,000 film and television people come from all over the world for this yearly event, I previously attended in 2005, and it includes executives, producers, filmmakers, distributors, and funding agencies.

MIPCOM is a great place to go and meet and pitch projects. It is a great litmus test for the global viability of a story. I got great reception to my story, because while there are a lot of eco-docs out there, I am bringing a fresh approach. The market is ready for that. So I have lots of significant interest I am now following up on. Stay tuned for more exciting news.

In the meantime, I did find a few odd moments to take my camera (I shoot with the Canon 5D Mark III) out into the streets of Cannes. I love Cannes, and cities like it, where there is something interesting lurking around every corner. The black and white versions of these photos really speak to me. I hope you enjoy them.a

About Unintended Consequences Documentary Project

I'm Producing and directing a multi-platform documentary project on global energy called "Unintended Consequences".
This entry was posted in Unintended Consequences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cannes in black and white

  1. Norm Landry says:

    You’ve done an impressive job of capturing much of the richness of France in Cannes in your black & white photos. I look forward to reading about more exciting news as a result of your trip. Cheers.

  2. Very evocative photos Matt…looking forward to see the project when it reaches fruition.

Leave a Reply

