The Beauty Around Us

June 6, 2012

By Matt Palmer

It is easy to get wrapped up in everyday life and forget to step back and consider what life is all about. For me, life centres on my family – my wife and my two sons, and my extended family, parents, siblings, nieces, nephews, and in-laws. As much as I love my work, and in particular the time I spend working on this project, the end goal is to create a better life and future for them. My work is important to me. I am passionate about expanding my own consciousness, and deepening my connection to the world and those around me. If that consciousness spreads to others, that is a wonderful thing.

One of the great benefits of living in Calgary is being able to go out to the mountains on a regular basis. Our boys love spending time in Canmore and in the mountains. This past weekend, I went on a photography workshop in Banff. I spent the day with ten other photo adventurers and enthusiasts driving the Banff/Lake Louise corridor, venturing as far as Bow Lake on highway 93 – one of the most spectacular roads in the world.

It was a beautiful day, filled with a mix of weather, so typical for this time of the year in the mountains. The beauty of where we live is special. Hard to even find the words to adequately express it, and so I will do something a little different today, and share some of the photos that I captured.

These photos serve as a reminder of what “Unintended Consequences” is all about on a more ethereal level – appreciating and protecting the beauty around us. Nature provides us with all the things we need to live. It is a symbiotic relationship. Respect. Respect for nature exists within all of us, and that respect needs to infuse everything we do. Respect for others is equally important.

I hope you will appreciate the beauty that exists within these images. Whatever emotions they stir are a gift. I am taking this moment to reflect and breathe.

About Unintended Consequences Documentary Project

I'm Producing and directing a multi-platform documentary project on global energy called "Unintended Consequences".
This entry was posted in Unintended Consequences and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Beauty Around Us

  1. andreashesse says:

    What I can see from your pictures is your huge amount of respect. From my point of view, a lot missing respect is combined with a nearly equal amount of missing knowledge about its consequence… which is sad because you miss out views and the beauty. Wonderful pictures :)

  2. Bruce Elkin says:

    Beautiful pics, Matt. And I liked what andrea said about respect. I feel that in them. I love those places, lived between Canmore and Lake Louise for a large portion of my life. You’ve captured a sense of what can’t be captured, but only felt. I’d say that’s pretty darned good photography! Thanks for the gift.

  3. Ellen Kinsel says:

    I enjoyed sharing the photo workshop with you, Matt. Your photos are great. I particularly like the third one down…the colors are lovely in this small section of Lake Louise shoreline.

  4. Stunning pictures. :)

Leave a Reply

